top of page
Instructor Outside Line.webp

Maryland Wear & Carry Permit

$175 Original / $100 Renewal

This State approved Wear & Carry Permit training course is taught by our Maryland State Police Qualified Handgun Instructor and fully satisfies the training requirements for your original or renewal permit applications.

Although a HQL can be obtained for free after you receive your permit, successful completion will also meet the training requirements for an HQL application if desired.  Other states (such as Florida) may also issue their permit with the certification you receive.

COURSE DETAILS

This USCCA Concealed Carry & Home Defense course has been tailored to meet the specific State required training that became effective October 1, 2023. 

 

If you choose to own or carry a firearm, you drastically increase your level of responsibility and this course will provide you with a deeper level of understanding when it comes to being your family’s first line of defense.  You will walk away from this course equipped with the knowledge and understanding necessary to own and carry your firearm confidently, safely, and legally.

Lessons include:

  • Maryland state firearm law

  • Home firearm safety

  • Handgun mechanisms & operation

  • Personal and home protection plans

  • Firearm basics and shooting fundamentals

  • Legal use of force

  • Violent encounters and the aftermath

  • Suicide prevention

  • and more!

After completion of the classroom training, you will schedule a FREE private lesson with your instructor, where you will receive individualized attention to ensure that you are able to confidently manipulate and operate your firearm.  This is where you will conduct your live fire qualification to demonstrate proficiency and accuracy.  A minimum score of 70% accuracy must be obtained to complete the final step in your training necessary to apply for your MD Wear & Carry Permit.  Should you have taken the class with friends or made friends during the class, a group range session can be arranged as well.

 

A USCCA Concealed Carry & Home Defense Fundamentals course textbook ($35 value) is included with your registration, along with handouts for your review as needed.

What is Wear & Carry Permit Training?

Approved Wear and Carry Permit training courses are offered by Maryland State Police approved Qualified Handgun Instructors who have established an account through the Maryland State Police MyLicense/E-Gov site.  Training is valid until the permit expiration.  However, you must receive subsequent training within 2 years of submitting your renewal or subsequent application.

Wear and Carry Permit training is 16 hours of instruction for an original application and 8 hours of instruction for a renewal application.  The approved training is offered by a Qualified Handgun Instructor and will include instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires the applicant to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.

Designated security personnel (security guards, private detectives, special police, and armored car drivers/guards) must shoot a practical police course of at least 50 rounds, from no further than 25 yards and score at least 70% accuracy.

All other applicants must shoot a course of at least 25 rounds, from no further than 15 yards and score at least 70% accuracy.

Who needs to take the training?

Every original application and renewal application submitted after October 1, 2013, unless exempt.

If you are any one of the below you are exempted:

  1. You are an active law enforcement officer with a law enforcement agency of the United States, the State or any local law enforcement agency in the State.

  2. You are a retired law enforcement officer with a law enforcement agency of the United States, the State or any local law enforcement agency in the State.

  3. You are an active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States or the National Guard.

  4. You are a Qualified Handgun Instructor registered with the Maryland State Police.

  5. You have successfully completed a firearms training course given by a Qualified Handgun Instructor. (The on-line firearm safety course is no longer accepted).

bottom of page